Struggling with Cravings – Plus some

I’ve been struggling with cravings the last few nights, mostly chocolate cravings. Thankfully, I don’t keep junk food in the house for two reasons. One, the kids usually get into it without asking which makes me angry and so not having it in the house keeps me from being upset at them.  And the second reason, If it’s not in the house I can’t eat it. In order to get junk food, since we don’t have a car, we have to walk to the store in order to buy it. So, I really have to ask myself do I really want this? Sometimes, I really, really want it and other times I’m able to find something more healthy to curb my cravings.

Did you know that cravings are mostly in your head? Usually we start craving things because we are bored, happy, angry, etc. I’m an emotional eater. I eat when I’m bored, stressed, and sometimes when I’m depressed. I’ve really had to look deep into myself and ask myself, Are you really hungry or is there something else going on? Usually, it’s something else going on. So, I’ve been reaching for mints, tea, and gum to curb those cravings that on some nights don’t seem to want to go away.

Last night, I was bored. My husband was at a friends house and I really didn’t have much to do once the kids were in bed. So, I started craving chocolate. I ended up eating the rest of the celery with 1.5 tablespoons of peanut butter, had one mint, and a cup of tea. I would have ate chips too, however we were out of salsa and I don’t like chips without salsa. Fortunately for me, we are still out of salsa and will be until next week.  Hopefully these cravings will pass by then.

My gym workouts are doing ok and I’m down 5 pounds since Tuesday the 21st. I took the last two days off because I pushed myself pretty hard on Monday and was really sore. I actually was so sore I felt like I had the flu except I wasn’t nauseous.

Today I did:

1 mile bike

30 minutes Arc Trainer

Tomorrow:

I have my first appointment with my personal trainer. She’s a great lady and I can’t wait to meet with her and get some goals set and a routine so I’m not just jumping around doing whatever. Plus, it will be nice to go over a few pieces of equipment I don’t know anything about but would like to use.

The owner of the gym spoke with me today about joining his boot camp that he does every month. I’ve seen videos and so I know it’s not easy. I’m not quite ready for that step, however I’m thinking that in the next couple of months, maybe January, I will sign up. It’s $59 for 12-16 sessions. Plus, you get some nutritional help and a few other things I can’t remember right now.

I’ve been reading so many blogs. I have about 90 subscriptions. I know it’s crazy. They help keep me motivated and I really enjoy the positive ones and ones with really good recipes and especially ones with gluten and dairy free recipes.

Speaking of food. I have been doing really great staying dairy free. I am feeling so much better. My joints and muscles no longer hurt. The issue I am having is staying vegan so I’m not going to do it. I think I’ve had to give up so much stuff out of my diet (wheat, barley, dairy, eggs, some  chocolates,) due to allergies in the past month to a year that giving up meat just sends me into a panic and then depression. I start thinking, Geez, what CAN I eat?  So, at this point, I’ll give it some time and see how I feel about all of this at a later time when I have more information and nutritional knowledge. In the meantime, I am limiting myself to only one portion of meat or fish at dinner.

Starting tomorrow, I will begin counting calories again. I need to be sure that I am getting adequate nutrition and calories for all the hard work I’ll be putting in at the gym.

I’m definitely ready to continue moving forward in my quest to be happy, fit and healthy!

Until next time…

“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.” ~ Walt Disney