Soup and HFCS

It’s not supposed to get that warm today so I made soup – tomato soup.

Of course, I did it the easy way. I used a jar of spicy sweet bell pepper spaghetti sauce that did not have high fructose corn syrup, a can of no salt added diced tomatoes, two tablespoons of rice protein powder, a cup and a half of water, garlic and onion powder, pepper, and a little Italian herb blend. I split it into two servings and each serving is roughly 250 calories resulting in a great vegan lunch that was easy to make.

Speaking of high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), soon to be known as “corn sugar”, did you know that some brands of vegetable broth have HFCS in them? Yes, I was totally surprised myself. I personally don’t understand why vegetable broth would need to be sweetened, do you? If I wasn’t watching my sugar intake (again), I wouldn’t have read the ingredients and learned this astonishing fact. I’m now reading every label, and seriously, you should too. 😉

I finally did find a vegetable broth that did not contain HFCS, however I had to go to the health food section of the grocery store to do it. So, this weekend I’ll be making a big batch of vegetable soup to have for a few days – yummy!

Until next time…

“Better be wise by the misfortunes of others than by your own.” ~ Aesop

Leave a Reply

