Change

“Any change, even a change for the better, is always accompanied by drawbacks and discomforts.” ~ Arnold Bennett

Hello blog land, how are you doing on this gorgeous day? Yep it’s been beautiful and warm hot here in Oregon. It’s finally getting back down to the low to mid 80’s. I’m enjoying every minute of it.

This past weekend, Derrick and I, went on two date nights. It was fabulous. We went to Chinese food the first night and there must have been wheat in something, probably one of the sauces, because by the time we got home I was breaking out in hives. Oh the joys of being allergic to wheat. I’ll have to be more careful in the future. Oh we also shared a mocha chocolate drink from Sonic. Very yummy although my stomach didn’t agree a while later. That’s what happens when you basically stop eating dairy and suddenly introduce it again.

On our second date night we went and saw Despicable Me. Oh my, it was funny. We both loved it although my sweet darling did doze off a few times from lack of sleep the night before. It was still very enjoyable. Then we went and ate at Red Robin. He had my favorite a whiskey river bbq wrap. I can no longer eat them due to my wheat allergy. And I had a chicken sandwich minus the bread with avoli pesto sauce. It was yummy. I also ate their famous fries. I’ll have to avoid doing that in the future as well.

Yesterday was another day I didn’t count calories. I wasn’t sure what was going on with me until I woke up this morning. I’ve been a bit depressed. I’m not reaching my goals fast enough. The truth of it all is that I’m not making myself stick to what I need to be doing either. So, I have no one else to blame but myself. This weekend was great fun and also a real eye opener. I gain water weight easily. I have to make sure that I am drinking enough water and not eating too much salt. I can easily put on 5 or 6 pounds because of this. I am guessing that is what happened last weekend when we were married.

New plans, new goals.

I am adding back in a small amount of chicken, fish and meat. 100 – 150 grams per day. Why? because I need protein. I just feel better and less hungry having more protein from these sources. I would use other sources of protein however I have some issue with them.

Eggs: sensitive, causing painless migraines and some painful ones

Cottage Cheese: too much sodium

Beans and Legumes: too many carbs, causes weight gain

Soy: I don’t like it

Protein powder: Expensive and not in our budget right now

About protein powders, I do use Vega. It is really expensive. Costing me about $70 a bottle. Servings per bottle 15 however I use a half a serving so I can get 30 servings per bottle. I use Vega because it’s a plant based whole foods protein powder that gives me 50% to 100% of my RDA’s. It’s not gritty and I love it.

I need to stop the excuses I use to not exercise. It’s too hot, it’s too cold, it’s raining, it’s too early, it’s too late. Come on, it’s time to move on past this. I’ve been doing it way too long. So today I’m building a plan and tomorrow I will implement it. I will give myself a sticker on the calendar for each day I do what is on my plan. I am hoping the visual tracking will give me the motivation I need to keep going. Plus, at the end of the summer, I am going to get my gym membership back. I don’t want any excuses for not exercising.

Wow, I’ve gone on and on… I’ll take a break for now and come back later with the plan I have worked out for staying on track with nutrition and exercise.

Leave a Reply

