A Very Tough Sad Day

I haven’t tracked calories today or even eaten much since I found out that my youngest daughter’s(Hanna)father, may have cancer. He was life-flighted from La Grande, OR to OHSU in Portland, OR yesterday or today. He was weak, couldn’t stand, was short of breath and had lower back pain. The lower back pain he has had for about 9 months now along with substantial weight loss and the rest of the symptoms have happened over the last week. What is scary about this situation is that his father had cancer. Lung, liver and spinal cancer with all the same symptoms that he is having now. He was diagnosed one day and had died 28 days later.

The first thing I did when I found out was called his mother. They haven’t spoken in 9 1/2 years, long story. I thought she should know that he was very sick and that he was having a biopsy taken from his lower back this afternoon. It’s very sad to know that our daughter couldn’t bring them together and yet his possibility of having cancer will, and it’s a high probability. By Monday we should know for sure if it is indeed cancer.

I’ve cried most of the afternoon and evening. I finally told Hanna after talking with her grandmother that her dad was in the hospital and may have cancer and that he may die if he does. Hanna asked if we could talk about it tomorrow after she cried I held on to her. It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. Then she went off to play. At 8 years old, I’m sure she doesn’t quite understand the severity of the issue.

I won’t be blogging for a couple of days as her grandmother is taking Hanna and myself to Portland for a couple of days to visit with him. I’m not sure how my CRON is going to go while there however I will the do the best I can. I will post an update on everything when I get back. 

Please keep us in your thoughts and prayers and send positive vibes our way.

2 Comments

  1. DawnRose said,

    June 26, 2010 at 4:47 am

    Julie, my family and I will keep you and yours in our thoughts. Hang in there, I hope it works out for the best!

  2. April said,

    June 26, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    That's horrible! You will all be in my prayers.april


Leave a Reply

