Green for Life

I just read this awesome book Green for Life by Victoria Boutenko. It’s about how Victoria was in search for the perfect human diet and compares the standard American diet with the diet of wild chimpanzees. A major difference is that chimpanzees consume much more greens than humans do and of course none of the junk food we do. Victoria also did a study with Dr Fieber (he is actually my doctor, crazy huh?) with 27 local individuals. They drank one quart of green smoothie a day for 30 days. Two people did drop out of the study however the other 25 individuals had good to excellent results from amazing energy to healing from prostate cancer to even a reduction of cataracts.

So, what does this mean? Yep you guessed it. We will be drinking green smoothies everyday however before that happens we need to buy a Vitamix blender. The blender we now own will in no way make a very good green smoothie. I’ve wanted a Vitamix for over a year now and I’m excited that in the next few months we will finally have one. Along with that, we are getting an Excalibur dehydrator with 9 trays so we can  incorporate more raw food into our diets, eventually going 100% raw.

On a very positive note, my stomach pain is mostly gone. I have had a few points today where I thought it was going to get severe again however it hasn’t and I’m super happy about that as I have to go back to work tomorrow. Speaking of work, I only have two weeks left and then I will only be filling in when someone gets sick or is on vacation. I’m kind of excited about that. I’m looking forward to spending more time with the kids now that school is out.

On a personal note there are 28 days left until our wedding day, July 16. We aren’t having a big wedding, we’ll save that for our 10th wedding anniversary when all the kids are grown and can have a month relaxing and doing what we want without the worry of who is going to watch the children. We will be having a reception though. I’m making a gluten free cake and hope that my friend who is a cake decorator will decorate it. I’m still waiting to get an answer back from her if she will have time or not. If she cannot do the decorating I guess Derrick and I will have to put our heads together and get creative ourselves. That should be an interesting adventure for sure!

Now on to the food and nutrition for the day. I did good. I stayed under calories, got my nutrition except for potassium like always. Before I post the food and nutrition, I did find myself a multivitamin and mineral that I do believe is going to work for me. It’s by Lindberg called Pink Pack without iron. I retain iron well so when I take a multivitamin with iron in it I get sick. It’s designed for women and has all that I’m looking for plus some in one supplement. I really like that a lot as I hate taking pills.

My supplement list will be:

Lindberg Pink Pack without iron
Vitamin D – 2000 IU’s
Cinnamon – 1000mg for glucose metabolism
Chromium picolinate – 400mcg until my next round of blood work when I see what my insulin is.

Food for today:

Appetite Control Shake Revised    1 full recipe   
Oats, Steel cut, Raisins, Cinnamon    200g   
Nuts, brazilnuts, 1 kernel   
Spinach, raw    100g    23.0
Tomatoes, red, raw, 149g   
Beans, black,    100g   
Peppers, sweet, yellow, raw    62g   
Onions, young green, tops only    10g   
Broccoli, raw    58g   
Udo’s Oil 3-6-9 Blend    5g   
Vinegar, balsamic    2 tbsp   
Nuts, almonds    30g   
Red Bull, Sugar Free 12 ounces    1 Serving   
Bean Dip 2    100g   
Tortillas, ready-to-bake or -fry, corn    28g   
Guacamole Dip    50g   
Spinach, raw    20g   
Almond Milk, Unsweetened, Blue Diamond    1 Serving   

Multivitamin, for her, Nature Made    1 Serving

===========================================
Nutrition Summary for June 17, 2010
Report generated by CRON-o-Meter v0.9.7
===========================================

General (88%)
===========================================
Energy               |  1278.1 kcal    95%
Protein              |    52.6 g      114%
Carbs                |   163.7 g       84%
  Fiber              |    55.5 g      222%
  Sugars             |    25.0 g       50%
Fat                  |    53.8 g      120%

Vitamins (100%)
===========================================
Vitamin A            | 17512.4 IU     751%
Folate               |  1249.9 µg     312%
B1 (Thiamine)        |     2.3 mg     214%
B2 (Riboflavin)      |     2.6 mg     237%
B3 (Niacin)          |    54.9 mg     392%
B5 (Pantothenic Acid)|    19.0 mg     380%
B6 (Pyridoxine)      |    10.2 mg     787%
B12 (Cyanocobalamin) |    13.2 µg     550%
Vitamin C            |   386.3 mg     515%
Vitamin D            |  1250.0 IU     625%
Vitamin E            |    90.2 mg     601%
Vitamin K            |   723.0 µg     803%

Minerals (92%)
===========================================
Calcium              |  1047.3 mg     105%
Copper               |     3.4 mg     375%
Iron                 |    32.3 mg     179%
Magnesium            |   691.9 mg     216%
Manganese            |     7.9 mg     440%
Phosphorus           |   829.5 mg     119%
Potassium            |  3389.2 mg      72%
Selenium             |   125.3 µg     228%
Sodium               |   760.5 mg      51%
Zinc                 |    23.6 mg     295%

Amino Acids (88%)
===========================================
HIS                  |     1.2 g      113%
ILE                  |     1.7 g      178%
LEU                  |     3.0 g       80%
LYS                  |     2.0 g       62%
MET                  |     0.7 g       57%
PHE                  |     2.1 g      164%
THR                  |     1.7 g      123%
TRP                  |     0.5 g      143%
TYR                  |     1.2 g       85%
VAL                  |     2.1 g      137%

Lipids (53%)
===========================================
Saturated            |     5.1 g       26%
  Omega-3            |     5.0 g      454%
  Omega-6            |    10.5 g       87%
Cholesterol          |     0.0 mg       0%

2 Comments

  1. Ag's Blog said,

    June 18, 2010 at 1:26 am

    Congrats on your upcoming wedding day! Small weddings are always the way to go! Wishing you the best!

  2. Sie said,

    June 18, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Vitamix. I'm jealous.


Leave a Reply

