ER visit

What I didn’t tell you yesterday (short on time) was that I woke up with this horrible pain in the center of my chest and thought it was heartburn. Now know this, I’ve never had heartburn before so I was just going on what I’ve been told it feels like. Even Derrick (he was a medic in the Army and is now a health tech for the VA) thought it was heartburn until I came home from work still in pain. Every time I ate something my upper stomach would be so painful. So, I was off to the ER to get it checked out. I spent three hours there. They did an EKG which came back normal as well as the all the blood work.

Now what do I think? I do think there is a possibility that it is an ulcer however I think it was just irritated. I have been taking a lot of Alieve and Ibuprofen this last week because I pulled a muscle in my back a week and a half ago while at work. I usually take all my medications with milk. Since I haven’t been drinking milk, I think the medications caused my stomach to be irritated or an ulcer to form. I’m thinking it was just irritated as I have no pain this morning. Granted, I’ve only been drinking green tea and haven’t had any solid food yet. I’ll see how the day goes and report back later if the pain has returned.

Here are my numbers for yesterday. I didn’t meet my vitamin and mineral goals because I really didn’t/couldn’t eat.

I ate all this before I went to work:

Appetite Control Shake Revised    1 full recipe   
Oats, Steel cut, Raisins, Cinnamon    202g   
Nuts, brazilnuts,   1 kernel   
Tums    6g

Ate this at work:

Nuts, almond butter,    30g   

Ate this when I returned from the ER, I needed/wanted some comfort food    and yes I had milk hoping it would coat my stomach and help relieve some pain.

Cereals, QUAKER, Quick Oats, Dry  2 – 1/2 cup servings   
Sugars, brown    4tsp unpacked   
Margarine,    1.5 tbsp
Milk, nonfat,     1.5 cup   

===========================================
Nutrition Summary for June 15, 2010
Report generated by CRON-o-Meter v0.9.7
===========================================

General (97%)
===========================================
Energy               |  1332.5 kcal    99%
Protein              |    48.3 g      105%
Carbs                |   164.9 g       85%
  Fiber              |    33.6 g      134%
  Sugars             |    61.7 g      123%
Fat                  |    56.2 g      125%

Vitamins (63%)
===========================================
Vitamin A            |  2340.7 IU     100%
Folate               |    99.4 µg      25%
B1 (Thiamine)        |     0.7 mg      66%
B2 (Riboflavin)      |     1.0 mg      95%
B3 (Niacin)          |     2.9 mg      21%
B5 (Pantothenic Acid)|     2.2 mg      44%
B6 (Pyridoxine)      |     0.3 mg      25%
B12 (Cyanocobalamin) |     1.8 µg      77%
Vitamin C            |    82.9 mg     111%
Vitamin D            |   322.7 IU     161%
Vitamin E            |    28.3 mg     189%
Vitamin K            |     7.5 µg       8%

Minerals (83%)
===========================================
Calcium              |  3390.1 mg     339%
Copper               |     0.9 mg      96%
Iron                 |     9.0 mg      50%
Magnesium            |   611.2 mg     191%
Manganese            |     4.9 mg     272%
Phosphorus           |  1030.4 mg     147%
Potassium            |  1817.9 mg      39%
Selenium             |   137.6 µg     250%
Sodium               |   735.2 mg      49%
Zinc                 |     8.8 mg     110%

Amino Acids (77%)
===========================================
HIS                  |     0.8 g       77%
ILE                  |     1.2 g      126%
LEU                  |     2.3 g       60%
LYS                  |     1.4 g       44%
MET                  |     0.5 g       45%
PHE                  |     1.3 g       97%
THR                  |     1.0 g       73%
TRP                  |     0.4 g      107%
TYR                  |     1.1 g       75%
VAL                  |     1.5 g       98%

Lipids (61%)
===========================================
Saturated            |     8.0 g       40%
  Omega-3            |     3.3 g      298%
  Omega-6            |    12.8 g      107%
Cholesterol          |     7.4 mg       2%

2 Comments

  1. *Sie* said,

    June 16, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Stomach ulcers are not fun; I've been down that road a few times. When I tore up my left elbow last year I was talking some Rx strength naproxen (Aleve), and I ended up with a stomach ulcer.On another note, those oats and raisin just sound so very yummmy. I think I may eat that instead of my berry oats today. 🙂

  2. Julie said,

    June 16, 2010 at 11:19 pm

    I was thinking that I have taken a lot of ibuprofen in my life and have never had this issue so I'm sure it's do to the naproxen. I am also pretty sure I will never take it again. The oatmeal is very yummy!


Leave a Reply

