Supplements

I did a little thinking about this yesterday and I need to add a few to make myself the healthiest it can be.

I’m already taking a vitamin D supplement because when the doctor checked my levels they were 20. That is way, way too low.  He suggested I take 4000 IU’s a day however I’ve only been taking 2000 IU’s.  The rest is coming from the food I am eating and from the multivitamin which has 1000 IU’s. 

B12 is a vitamin I definitely need to be taking as I’m not getting that eating vegan. I am taking a multivitamin so that covers that, I think. I am not sure how much B12 I need to be supplementing with so I’ll be doing some research on that today.

The other supplement that I am definitely going to add is calcium. I know it’s recommended for women over the age of 35 and well I am at that age. Again, I am not sure what the best calcium supplement is so I will be researching that as well.

If anyone has any ideas I’d love to hear them……… anyone?

1 Comment

  1. *Sie* said,

    June 12, 2010 at 1:01 pm

    For calcium, I love Jarrow's Bone-Up formula. It's not just a calcium supplement, and the combination of vitamins and minerals are supposed to favor proper adsorption and redistribution. I'm sure there are other similar supplements out there, but this is what I've been using for over a year now. If you go with something different, definitely post it because I am always open to new ides. 🙂


Leave a Reply

