I am worth it and so is my family!

It’s been an interesting day. My friend K stopped by with three of her children. I agreed to watch them while she ran some errands and she returned with fried chicken, potatoes, Chinese food, sour cream and onion pringles, and chocolate chip cookies. The smell of the chocolate chip cookies made me start craving chocolate. So, I ended up having two chocolate covered coffee beans for a total of 16.5 calores. I was able to say NO to everything though and I am so proud of myself!

I’ve noticed the longer I go without excess sugar (read junk food), I feel better. I have a lot more energy and I don’t feel as tired as I usually do. Kind of crazy since it’s been only a few days since I have cut out all that sugar.

Today was my first day eating vegan. In my opinion it went well except for the fact that I need to find more protein sources. My numbers aren’t so great. I went way over in fat which came from avocados so it could have been worse. I ate one avocado and that led to a stuffed avocado. They were so yummy!

In spite of all that, I will try again tomorrow and maybe make a Raw meal or two from my Raw recipe books or search online for some inexpensive vegan meals that are healthy and don’t contain soy.

I need to buy a dehydrator at some point and a better juicer so I can make green juice. The juicer I have does not juice greens very well. I’m also buying a bread machine to make gluten free bread. My daughter Emilee and I are both allergic to wheat and I have just found out I’m allergic to barley too. 😦

So, anyway here is what I ate today.

Appetite Control Shake – Vegan – Udo’s oil 1full recipe
Mushrooms, Crimini, raw 25g
Tomatoes, 103g
Spinach, raw 85g
Vinegar, balsamic 1 tbsp
Nuts, almonds 15g
Avocados, 108g
Cauliflower, raw 106g
Broccoli, raw 194g
Peaches, canned, extra light syrup, 130g
brazil nut, 1 kernel
Candies, milk chocolate coated coffee beans 3g
Oats – Steel cut, Raisins, Cinnamon 201g
Avocados Stuffed 215g
Almond Milk, Unsweetened, Blue Diamond 2 Serving 80.0
Plums, dried (prunes), 44g

Multivitamin, for her, Nature Made 1 Serving
(my multivitamin is added to CRON-o-meter)

And here is my nutrition –

===========================================
Nutrition Summary for June 11, 2010
Report generated by CRON-o-Meter v0.9.7
===========================================

General (90%)
===========================================
Energy | 1392.8 kcal 103%
Protein | 39.9 g 59%
Carbs | 169.8 g 88%
Fiber | 55.1 g 220%
Sugars | 47.8 g 96%
Fat | 72.7 g 161%

Vitamins (100%)
===========================================
Vitamin A | 15744.4 IU 675%
Folate | 1233.7 µg 308%
B1 (Thiamine) | 2.2 mg 200%
B2 (Riboflavin) | 3.0 mg 273%
B3 (Niacin) | 32.3 mg 231%
B5 (Pantothenic Acid)| 16.3 mg 326%
B6 (Pyridoxine) | 3.8 mg 291%
B12 (Cyanocobalamin) | 6.0 µg 252%
Vitamin C | 477.6 mg 637%
Vitamin D | 1300.8 IU 650%
Vitamin E | 94.7 mg 631%
Vitamin K | 755.9 µg 840%

Minerals (95%)
===========================================
Calcium | 1126.4 mg 113%
Copper | 3.5 mg 389%
Iron | 30.2 mg 168%
Magnesium | 547.8 mg 171%
Manganese | 7.3 mg 403%
Phosphorus | 736.5 mg 105%
Potassium | 4672.0 mg 99%
Selenium | 131.8 µg 240%
Sodium | 768.3 mg 51%
Zinc | 22.2 mg 278%

Lipids (56%)
===========================================
Saturated | 8.4 g 42%
Omega-3 | 4.7 g 432%
Omega-6 | 9.8 g 81%
Cholesterol | 0.6 mg 0%

2 Comments

  1. *Sie* said,

    June 12, 2010 at 12:53 pm

    One thing you might want to do is look up the RDA for the 8 essential amino acids and adjust your CRON-O-Meter for those minimum values. That way you can monitor your protein on a closer level, and you will know if you are having problems meeting your required values. I have noticed that the only two amino acids that run low for me are Leucine and Methionine, which I don't mind if they are below the RDA sometimes since I like to keep them low based on the research I have done. You won't have to worry as much about your overall protein intake if you know the breakdown, AND if anyone tries to tell you that you aren't getting enough protein as a vegan, you can *show* them you are. From my experiences, people in general tend to over emphasize the need for lots of dietary protein. 🙂

  2. *Sie* said,

    June 12, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    p.s. Avocados are scrumdiddlyumptious!


Leave a Reply

